Check Out All Categories

World Poker Tour Texas Holdem Tournaments: WPT Invitational

Held at the captivating Commerce Casino in California, the WPT Invitational is a world class Texas Holdem tournament. This prestigious event is a regular part of the much anticipated World Poker Tour roster of poker tournaments. Various amateurs, professional poker players, and celebrities were carefully selected and invited to participate in this highly exclusive event.

In the debut season of the World Poker Tour, the WPT Invitational event showed a lot of promise. It demonstrated how celebrities can spice up a simple Texas Holdem tournament. Since then, the event gained a lot of serious following from a wide range of audiences. These people just cannot stop seeing their favorite celebrities compete with the best players of the poker world.

The final contenders at the inaugural WPT Invitational tournament include Men Nguyen, Tony Ma, and Andy Glazer. Layne Flack, David Chiu, and Jerry Buss made the event a very exciting one. The winner of the event was guaranteed a $100,000 plus a direct seat into the much awaited WPT Championship at the end of the season. After the smoke has settled, Flack was declared the winner over Buss.

In the second season, a new set of outstanding poker celebrities, amateurs and professional players once again graced the event. The final table participants for this year include Phil Laak, John Juanda, and Antonio Esfandiari. Harry Demetriou, Joe Cassidy, and Humberto Brenes made sure that the competition would not be very easy for the winner. In the end, it was Laak who emerged as the sole survivor.

During the third season, the WPT Invitational event once again glorified the Texas Holdem poker game. The competitors for this year proved to be true fighters with Bruce Buffer, Alex Brenes, and Tom Everett Scott around. Johan Storakers, Chris Ferguson, and Chau Giang completed the final table roster. At the final moments of the tournament, it was Brenes who defeated Storakers for the $100,000-pot and the right to be called tournament champion.

In season four, the Texas Holdem tournament delivered another exciting and fun-filled finish. Barry Greenstein was declared as the main winner after dismantling the poker hand of Blair Rodman in the final round. Ugur Marangoz and Tom Lock gave a wonderful fight. Meanwhile, the tough plays of Jesse Jones and Allen Kessler made life very difficult for the other players.

The fifth installment of the WPT Invitational Texas Holdem tournament was also fascinating. Adam Weinraub, Tim West, and David Mosikian all reached the final table. John Cernuto, Nick Cassavetes, and Glenn Morshower also made it to the final event. In the end, Weinraub's strategy proved to be too much for Cernuto for the victory.

Our Top Articles

Places You Should visit: